Skip to content

Filings Complete; Very Few Races


There will be one contested Ste. Genevieve board of aldermen race during the upcoming general election set for April 6.

The final filing date was Jan. 19, with election certification taking place this past Tuesday.

Both Susie Johnson and Amie Dobbs filed for Ward No. 1, which necessitated the upcoming contest. Dobbs recently was named to the Ste. Genevieve Parks and Recreation board, and she was the final person to file.

Mayor Paul Hassler filed, and he will run unopposed. Hassler has served as the city’s mayor since April 4, 2017, taking the post occupied by Dick Greminger.

Longtime Ward 2 AldermanMichael “Buck” Jokerst was the first alderman to file. He will not face opposition.

Ward No. 3 representative Mike Raney has filed, who was appointed after Jack Rozier opted not to take the position back in 2019.

Ashley Armbruster filed in Ward No. 4. Hassler appointed Armbruster in Feb. 2020 when previous alderman Bryant Wolfin ran for the state’s house of representatives (District No. 116).

Both Johnson and Armbruster have been serving as aldermanic representatives for tourism and parks and recreation, respectively.

The last day to register to vote for this general municipal election is set for March 10.

A board of alderman slot occupies a two-year term. Other aldermen aren’t up for re-election until April 2022.



Filing for R-II School Board positions also closed Jan. 19.

Board president David Bova is running against former Ste. Genevieve Elementary principal Geri Diesel, Lawrence Pfaff, Jr, Jamie Naeger Ballew and Josh Carlisle for two positions.

No other races will be contested. For the county ambulance board, Nick Werner and Don Kuehn both filed to run again. For Special Road District A, incumbent Paul Viox filed for the only open position

Meanwhile, Jim Donze filed for the only opening on the Lake Forest Clean Water District board and Dale Wipsler filed for the one opening on the Public Water Supply District No. 1 board.

On the county health board, there will be no contests, either. Incumbent members are seeking most of the only open spots. Current board members Dr. Matthew Bosner and Carl Kinsky, as well as former board member David Woods, have filed for the three four-year terms. Incumbents Carl Kinsky and James Brochtrup have filed for the two two-year spots.

Veronica Sharlow filed for the lone opening on the Ste. Genevieve County Memorial hospital board.

In municipal elections, Bloomsdale Mayor Paul Monia has filed, along with Ward 1 Alderwoman Monica Rozier and Ward 2 Alderman Brandon Shortt. In St. Mary, Ward 1 Alderman Dr. Zenon Duda filed for a two-year term, while fellow Ward 1 representative Ron Barnett filed for a one-year term. Ward 2 Alderman Karl Schultz filed for a two-year term. Collector Katrina Ullman, appointed to fill the position when Stacia Placke resigned in September, seeking her own two-year term, as well.