Skip to content

Municipal, R-II Seats Up For Grabs In April


The national election is still fresh in the voters’ minds.

But, the political sphere keeps spinning, and the first day for candidate filing for the April 6, 2021, general municipal elections is fast approaching on Tuesday, Dec. 15.

The last date for filing is set for Jan. 19, 2021 – up until 5 p.m. – with the final certification date one week later.

The final day to register to vote for the municipal election has been set for March 10, 2021.

For municipal locations and the Ste. Genevieve R-II School District, filing must be completed during the week.

The city of Ste. Genevieve has a filing fee of $25, payable by check, cash or debit/credit, according to a notice of election published in the Dec. 2 edition of the Herald.

The following a synopsis of terms that are up for the 2021 election cycle.


In the city of Ste. Genevieve, the following positions are up for election: Mayor Paul Hassler, and four Board of Alderman posts, one in each ward.

Hassler has served as Ste. Genevieve’s mayor since April 4, 2017, taking the post once occupied by Dick Greminger.

Susie Johnson is up in Ward No. 1, longtime Alderman Michael “Buck” Jokerst in Ward No. 2, Mike Raney in Ward No. 3 and Ashley Armbruster Ward No. 4.

Jokerst has been a civil servant from the 1990s through present day, including a two-year term as mayor.

Raney was appointed to Ward No. 3 when Jack Rozier, who had defeated him in the April 2019 election, opted not to take the position, following major surgery. Armbruster also was appointed in Feb. 2020, taking the spot from Bryant Wolfin, who stepped down to run for a state legislative seat.

Gary Smith (Ward No. 1), Bob Donovan (Ward No. 2), Jeff Eydmann (Ward No. 3) and Joe Prince (Ward No. 4) are not up for election until 2022. A Board of Alderman slot carries a two-year term.


In Bloomsdale, all elected officials serve two-year terms, and there are a few spots up this April.

Longtime Alderwoman Monica Rozier, representing Ward No. 1, is up for election. As is Brandon Shortt, representing Ward No. 2.

Shortt has held his post since 2017, taking over for Ralph Drury.

The mayor’s post, currently held by Paul Monia, is up for election.

The following aldermanic posts will be up for election in 2022, John Schweigert (Ward No. 1) and Chris Basler (Ward No. 2).


St. Mary will have three openings on its board of aldermen, a two-year term in Ward No. 1 for Dr. Zenon Duda.

Also up for election in Ward No. 1 is Ron Bennett — just a one-year term, reported city clerk David Woods — and Karl Schultz in Ward No. 2 for a two-year term.

The position of tax collector also is up for grabs, with Katrina Ullman currently in that role, Woods reported.

Elections have proven dramatic in St. Mary in recent years, including last year’s special run-off between Carlton Wyatt and Gloria Bader, who recently passed away  on Nov. 26.

Candidates must have lived in the ward from which he or she is elected for at least the past year, and be 21 years old.

According to a notice of election posted in the Herald, “any person filing for office must not be in arrears for any unpaid taxes or municipal user fees on the last day to file a declaration of candidacy.”

There also is a proposition up for vote.


Current Ste. Genevieve R-II School District board president David Bova and vice president Joan Huck are up for election this cycle.

School district communications director Bailey Otto reported terms are for three years. The board is made up of seven elected officials.

Terry McDaniel and Rick Rudloff will be up for election in April 2022, and Martha Resinger, Jim Kirchner and Eric Basler in April 2023.

Filing may be completed during regular business days 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

These are the dates filing will not be available: Dec. 23-25, 28-31, 2020, Jan. 1 and Jan. 18, 2021. The district office is located at 375 North Fifth Street. For information, call the district at 1-573-883-4500, extension 2004.