Skip to content

Ste. Genevieve R-II Students Participate In Regional Online Math Competition

Several Ste. Genevieve R-II students competed in the MoCTM Regional Mathematics competition on April 4.
However, this year, the competition was moved online, so that students could participate from home while practicing social distancing.
Four Ste. Genevieve Elementary students and one Bloomsdale Elementary student participated. Seven Ste. Genevieve Middle School students also participated.
From Bloomsdale Elementary, Aniston Cremer placed first on the Sprint test, fifth on the Target test, and second overall for fourth grade.
From Ste. Genevieve Elementary’s fourth grade, Dane Evelsizer placed second on the Target test and Josh Huff placed third on Target test. From Ste. Genevieve Elementary’s fifth grade, Simon Fritsch placed fourth on Sprint test, first on Target test and third overall for fifth grade. Nick Cantrell also participated on the fourth- and fifth-grade team, which placed fifth on the team test.
In the Elementary Division, Ste. Genevieve Elementary took first place, and Bloomsdale Elementary took third. The five elementary school students qualified for the state competition in May.
Ste. Genevieve Middle School took fourth place overall, and two students — Eleanor McKlin and Gavin Gegg — qualified for state.
The sixth-grade students earned the following places:
Gavin Gegg — third in Sprint, second in Target, 21st in Number Sense; Individual Total, eighth,
Tylin Hager — 14th in Sprint, 22nd in Number Sense; Individual Total, 21st.
Ethan Huff — 22nd in Sprint, fifth in Target, 23rd in Number Sense; Individual Total, 22nd.
Millie Huffman: 20th in Sprint, 14th in Number Sense; Individual Total, 19th.
Vivian Kiefer — 12th in Spring, 10th in Target, seventh in Number Sense; Individual Total, 12th.
Eleanor McKlin — fourth in Sprint, fourth in Target, fourth in Number Sense; Individual Total, second.
Madden Wolk — 23rd in Sprint, 13th in Number Sense; Individual Total: 23rd.
In the team test, Gavin Gegg, Millie Huffman and Madden Wolk earned first place; and Eleanor McKlin, Tylin Hager, Vivian Kiefer and Ethan Huff earned fourth place.
(Photos, information from Ste. Genevieve R-II School District.)

Aniston Cremer

Dane Evelsizer

Josh Huff

Simon Fritsch

Millie Huffman

Nick Cantrell