Skip to content

Local Students Help SEMO’s Phi Beta Lambda Earn State Honors

Southeast Missouri State University students won 18 awards in individual, chapter and team events at the State Phi Beta Lambda Leadership Conference on April 12 and April 13 in Springfield.

Southeast’s Zeta Alpha Lambda chapter of Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA-PBL) garnered seven first-place, five second-place, two third-place, two fourth-place and five fifth-place finishes.

Eleven Southeast students participated in this year’s conference and competition, including five from Ste. Genevieve County.

“Thanks to their success, all of the students have qualified to compete at the National Leadership Conference in San Antonio, Texas, in June,” said Dr. Dana Schwieger, professor of management information systems in Southeast’s department of accounting and faculty advisor for Southeast’s FBLA-PBL.

The conference provided students with an opportunity to hear presentations on leadership, network, run for state leadership positions and participate in competitive events. Representatives from 13 chapters across Missouri participated in the business-oriented competitive event portion of the program.

The Southeast chapter was awarded first place for the Local Chapter Annual Business Report. The annual report was prepared and submitted by Nicole Bauman and Skyler Ring of Ste. Genevieve. Known as the Hamden L. Forkner Award, this honor recognizes chapters that effectively summarize their year’s activities. The event provides participants with valuable experience in preparing business reports.

The chapter also received the Gold Chapter Award of Merit, known as the Hollis and Kitty Guy Award, which recognizes outstanding local chapters that have actively participated in projects and programs identified with the goals of FBLA-PBL. Missouri only has two Gold Seal Chapters each year.

All five Ste. Genevieve County students — Adrienne Webery, Cody Goodrich and Amber Macklin in addition to Bauman and Ring — were part of first-place finishes.

Results of Southeast students from the region:

First-Place Awards

Local Chapter Annual Business Report (Nicole Bauman of Ste. Genevieve and Skyler Ring of Ste. Genevieve).

Accounting Analysis and Decision-Making Team (Kylie Collins of Gallatin, Missouri; Adrienne Webery of St. Mary; Mallory Westerman of Chester, Illinois).

Forensic Accounting Team (Collins and Webery).

Parliamentary Procedure Team (Antwan Gill of St. Louis; Cody Goodrich of Ste. Genevieve; Alison Karleskint of Jackson, Missouri; Amber Macklin of St. Mary; Ring).

Networking Concepts (Macklin).

Second-Place Awards

Business Law Team (Bauman and Ring).

Business Presentation Team (Bauman and Westerman).

Accounting Principles (Webery).

Third-Place Awards

Personal Finance (Bauman).

Human Resource Management Team (Goodrich and Karleskint).

Fourth-Place Awards

Macroeconomics (Ring).

Fifth-Place Awards

Retail Management (Westerman.)

(Information in a release from readMedia Newswire for Southeast Missouri State University.)

Leave a Comment